19 May 2019 | Featured

Brown goes the double in fabulous opening TCR Australia weekend

Will Brown has secured a deserved victory in the third race of the inaugural round if the carsales TCR Australia Series round at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The HMO Customer Racing young gun fought off a number of challenges to secure his second win for the day and leave the Sydney venue with the championship lead.

The race was action-packed, with a number of great passing moves and the bump and grind that fans can expect to see at every TCR Australia event.

Alfa Romeo driver Dylan O’Keeffe finished second having led the first nine laps, only to be passed by Brown. The result added to his second place in today’s earlier race.

Hyundai driver Michael Almond made an incredible passing moves to take third place, ahead of fellow Hyundai driver Nathan Morcom, who was involved in three separate incidents that raised the eye brows of the stewards. Morcom was served three penalties totalling 60 seconds and placed him last of the classified finishers.

Aaron Cameron (Volkswagen) inherited fourth place after Morcom’s penalty, with James Moffat (Renault) recovering to fifth in a great display after his luckless start yesterday. 

The top 10 was rounded out by Jason Bright (Volkswagen), Chris Pither (Renault), Alex Rullo (Holden) and Alexandra Whitley (Volkswagen).

Brown (122) leads the championship standings by 12 points from O’Keeffe (110) with D’Alberto (99) in third.

Results, Race 3

   30  HMO Customer Racing             Will Brown (QLD)       Hyundai I30N         14 26:55.1637
    9  Ashley Seward Motorsport        Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC)   Alfa Romeo Giulietta 14 26:57.7711
   29  Astron Tech / Garth Walden Racing  Michael Almond (SA)    Hyundai I30N         14 26:59.9677
    2  Melbourne Performance           Aaron Cameron (VIC)    Volkswagen Golf GTI  14 27:02.0298
   34  Garry Rogers Motorsport         James Moffat (VIC)     Renault Megane RS    14 27:02.2844
   50  Wall Racing                     Tony D’Alberto (VIC)   Honda Civic Type R   14 27:03.0246
    8  Taskforce / Alliance Autosport  Jason Bright (VIC)     Volkswagen Golf GTI  14 27:03.1835
   33  Garry Rogers Motorsport         Chris Pither (NZ)      Renault Megane RS    14 27:08.3498
   62  Kelly Racing                    Alex Rullo (WA)        Holden Astra         14 27:09.4618
10   35  Alliance Autosport              Alexandra Whitley (QLD) Volkswagen Golf GTI   14  27:15.3608 
11   11  HMO Customer Racing             Nathan Morcom (NSW)    Hyundai I30N         14 28:01.4252
12    6  Kelly Racing                    Molly Taylor (NSW)     Subaru WRX STI       14 28:28.3733
DNF  24  Wall Racing                     John Martin (NSW)      Honda Civic Type R    7 15:40.1296
DNF  37  Kelly Racing                    Chelsea Angelo (VIC)   Holden Astra          7 15:55.3620
DNF 777  Kelly Racing                    Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Subaru WRX STI        5 12:24.8661
DNF   7  Garry Rogers Motorsport         Jimmy Vernon (NSW)     Alfa Romeo Giulietta
DNF  22  TCR SPA 500 / Melbourne Performance  Rik Breukers (NED)     Audi RS 3