19 May 2019 | Featured

Will Brown gives Hyundai its first TCR win on Australian soil

Hyundai driver Will Brown has scored his first victory in the carsales TCR Australian Series in today’s first race at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The HMO Customer Racing driver stormed past the field to score a win amongst an action-packed race.

Alfa Romeo driver Dylan O’Keeffe secured a brilliant second place after leading the majority of the race, ahead of Honda star Tony D’Alberto.

Brown was stoked with his maiden TCR win.

“What an awesome race,” he said.

“We were running third off the start and then Tony and I had an awesome battle which was very clean. He’s a great driver so that was really enjoyable.

“I caught up to Dylan before the Safety Car came out and then we were able to get past him but the whole race was really clean and really good, close racing and i’m looking forward to getting out there shortly for the final race.

“I think the safety car period gave the tyres a chance to cool down and I think our car was better after that, it loosened up the rear and we were ready to have a crack for the win.”

Yesterday’s race winner Jason Bright (Volkswagen) finished fourth after a slow get-away. Andre Heimgartner (Subaru) made up a heap of places to come home fifth, ahead of John Martin (Honda), Michael Almond (Hyundai), Nathan Morcom (Hyundai), Jimmy Vernon (Alfa Romeo) and Aaron Cameron (Volkswagen) rounding out the top 10.

TCR Australia begins at 2:20pm with teams only allowed to work on the cars for 20 minutes between the races.


   30  HMO Customer Racing            Will Brown (QLD)       Hyundai I30N         16 27:02.7868  
    9  Ashley Seward Motorsport       Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC)   Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 27:05.9468  
   50  Wall Racing                    Tony D’Alberto (VIC)   Honda Civic Type R   16 27:06.9494  
    8  Taskforce / Alliance Autosport Jason Bright (VIC)     Volkswagen Golf GTI  16 27:07.3529  
  777  Kelly Racing                   Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Subaru WRX STI       16 27:10.7634  
   24  Wall Racing                    John Martin (NSW)      Honda Civic Type R   16 27:11.2266  
   29  Astron Tech / Garth Walden Racing Michael Almond (SA)    Hyundai I30N         16 27:11.9205  
   11  HMO Customer Racing            Nathan Morcom (NSW)    Hyundai I30N         16 27:12.8234  
    7  Garry Rogers Motorsport        Jimmy Vernon (NSW)     Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 27:18.7323  
10    2  Melbourne Performance          Aaron Cameron (VIC)    Volkswagen Golf GTI  16 27:19.0084  
11   22  TCR SPA 500 / Melbourne Performance Rik Breukers (NED)     Audi RS 3            16 27:19.3153  
12   34  Garry Rogers Motorsport        James Moffat (VIC)     Renault Megane RS    16 27:19.7082  
13   62  Kelly Racing                   Alex Rullo (WA)        Holden Astra         16 27:20.2189  
14   37  Kelly Racing                   Chelsea Angelo (VIC)   Holden Astra         16 27:24.0419  
15    6  Kelly Racing                   Molly Taylor (NSW)     Subaru WRX STI       16 27:25.0330  
16   35  Alliance Autosport             Alexandra Whitley (QLD) Volkswagen Golf GTI   15  28:07.7492   
DNF  33  Garry Rogers Motorsport        Chris Pither (NZ)      Renault Megane RS    13 23:42.4954