14 July 2019 | Featured

Will Brown wins while chaos ensues in Race 2 at The Bend

Championship leader Will Brown banked another 40 points towards a title with a rampaging run to victory in the second of three carsales TCR Australia Series races at Tailem Bend.

Brown launched his Hyundai i30 N into the race lead at the start of the 14-lap contest and was never threatened, as his race rivals managed to turn the race into a crash fest and triggered two periods behind the safety car.

Veteran Garth Tander drove well for second and James Moffat, who was punted by Brown during practice on Friday and spun by rookie Jordan Cox on Saturday, finished a happy third.

The nearest anyone got to Brown was when he over-cooked a re-start and slid wide onto the start-finish straight, but no-one was close enough to pounce.

“It was a rookie error. But I got away with it,” Brown said.

There was no such luck for Chris Pither, who punted himself out of second place when he failed to re-trim his braking balance on a re-start and his Renault Megane turned sharply into a concrete wall at Turn 1.

John Martin and Tony D’Alberto were hoping to capitalise on the carnage in their Honda Civic Type Rs, but both reported a lack of straight-line speed and were only fourth and ninth.

“There was nothing I could do. I could tow up behind them but I couldn’t get past,” Martin said.

“We’re struggling in a straight line,” was D’Alberto’s comment.

The 19-car field was cut to 18 when Andre Heimgartner failed to resume the racing after an engine failure on Saturday, while Molly Taylor’s similar Subaru was sidelined with fuel pressure problem.

The grid for the final race of the weekend is likely to be filled with battle-scarred cars and drivers intent on a comeback run, but Brown is still clearly the driver to beat with Tander alongside him on the front row.


Pos Num Driver Team  Car  Laps Time
   30 William Brown (Qld)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         11 27:26.4026
    4 Garth Tander (Vic)      Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            11 27:27.0592
   34 James Moffat (Vic)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    11 27:27.5833
   24 John Martin (NSW)       Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   11 27:27.9851
   38 Jordan Cox (NSW)        Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   11 27:28.3875
  100 Russell Ingall (Qld)    Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            11 27:31.8636
   11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         11 27:31.9996
    3 Leanne Tander (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            11 27:33.1281
   50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   11 27:34.4159
10    9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Ashley Seward Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta 11 27:35.0451
11    8 Jason Bright (Vic)      Taskforce / Alliance Autosport Volkswagon Golf GTI  11 27:38.2100
12   37 Chelsea Angelo (Vic)    Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         11 28:17.8474
DNF   2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagen Golf GTI  10 25:34.2234
DNF  33 Chris Pither (NZ)       Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS     9 23:28.9448
DNF   7 Jimmy Vernon (NSW)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Alfa Romeo Giulietta  6 14:53.0377
DNF  62 Alex Rullo (WA)         Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra          6 21:18.7856
DNF   6 Molly Taylor (NSW)      Kelly Racing                   Subaru WRX STi        2 15:42.0178
DNF  35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Alliance Autosport             Volkswagon Golf GTI