17 November 2019 | Featured

Nathan Morcom wins, Will Brown officially wraps up the title

Nathan Morcom became the ninth different winner of the inaugural carsales TCR Australia Series as Hyundai signed-off the season in style at The Bend.

As Morcom claimed his first champagne for the season, Will Brown took a podium place with his sister Hyundai i30N to put the exclamation mark on his 2019 championship.

Chris Pither finally delivered on his season-long promise with second place in a Renault Megane RS, while the runner-up spot in the championship was decided when Aaron Cameron’s Volkswagen Golf – which he had driven to victory on Sunday morning – had a major engine drama.

So Tony D’Alberto’s fifth place in his Honda Civic Type R was good enough for second in the series.

“This is awesome. The crew gave me a fast car all weekend and we go it done,” says Morcom.

“We only had one last chance to get on the podium. We got it,” says Pither.

“We’ve had potential all year, which is only to be expected with a new car, so full credit to the whole Renault team to finish off the season like this.”

Brown, who was playing a dead rubber all weekend and doing double duty with S5000 single-seater racing, was predictably happy.

“How about that,” he says.

For Cameron, there was heartbreak after his breakthrough win.

“That’s the highest of highs and the lowest of lows,” he says.

“No boost. No turbo. Nothing I could do.

“I saw D’Alberto coming and tried to block him through the last corner, but he just pulled out and passed me.”

The Honda driver admits he was surprised to finish so well after a tough time with a car that was lacking straight-line speed.

“I didn’t think that was going to happen. But I’ll take it,” says D’Alberto.

“I felt sorry for Aaron because he did a good job all year. But I’m certainly happy to take second in the championship.”

Race 21 of the inaugural series provided surprises and dramas, as Russell Ingall’s Audi RS3 lost a spring from the rear suspension and James

Moffat’s Renault broke an engine mount for the second time of the weekend, while Andre Heimgartner delivered a solid fourth in an improving Holden Astra.

The TCR field will re-assemble in March for the Australian Grand Prix and Morcom is already looking forward to the 2020 season.

“This win has really set us up perfectly for next year,” he says.

The TCR Australia Series field will celebrate its first season this evening in Adelaide with a special post-season dinner.

Result: TCR Australia Series, Race 3

Pos Num Team Driver                    Car Time
1 11  HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom (NSW) Hyundai I30N 27:34.129
2 33  Garry Rogers Motorsport Chris Pither (NZ) Renault Megane RS 27:34.866
3 30  HMO Customer Racing Will Brown (Qld) Hyundai I30N 27:38.383
4 777  Kelly Racing Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Holden Astra 27:44.728
5 50  Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto (Vic) Honda Civic Type R 27:52.561
6 24  Wall Racing John Martin (NSW) Honda Civic Type R 27:54.385
7 8  Taskforce / Melb.Perf.Centre Jason Bright (Vic) Volkswagen Golf GTI 27:56.775
8 308  DG Sport Aurelien Comte (FRA) Peugeot 308 28:06.436
9 64  Garage 1 Tim Brook (NSW) Cupra SEAT Le�n 300 28:07.101
10 2  Melbourne Performance Centre Aaron Cameron (Vic) Volkswagen Golf GTI 28:07.193
11 35  Melbourne Performance Centre Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Volkswagen Golf GTI 28:08.679
12 3  Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall (Vic) Audi RS 3 28:09.501
13 19  Milldun Motorsport Matthew Simmons (Qld) Subaru WRX STi 28:10.970
14 10  Ashley Seward Motorsport James Allen (Vic) Alfa Romeo Giulietta 29:24.561
15 27  Milldun Motorsport Barton Mawer (NSW) Subaru WRX STi 29:30.922
16 7  Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox (NSW) Alfa Romeo Giulietta 13:51.645
17 34  Garry Rogers Motorsport James Moffat (Vic) Renault Megane RS  7:58.7952
18 100  Melbourne Performance Centre Russell Ingall (Qld) Audi RS 3  6:56.6994