17 January 2020 | Featured

Morgan Park completes 2020 TCR Australia calendar

The seven round carsales TCR Australia Series calendar is confirmed with Queensland’s Morgan Park Raceway securing the fifth round on July 3-5 this year.

The deal has been struck between Motorsport Australia and the Southern Downs Regional Council, confirming that the Warwick-based track will see Australia’s emerging touring car class make its first visit to the 2.9km track.

TCR Australia Series will be joined by a packed program, including the Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters and the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge.

Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships Director Michael Smith was thrilled to have the final location for the 2020 season confirmed.

“Morgan Park will be a terrific location for the fifth round of the rebranded Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships in 2020,” Smith said.

“Together with the Southern Downs Regional Council and Morgan Park, we know this event will be a great success and we are extremely grateful to everyone at the Council for their support of this event.

“We can’t wait to compete at Morgan Park next year and showcase some of the best Australian circuit racing for those in the Warwick region.”

Southern Downs Regional Council’s Yve Stocks, the council’s portfolio holder for Events, Sports and Recreation, was also delighted to be confirming the event would take place at Morgan Park.

“Having such a huge event like this certainly brings a lot of outside people into the region. Not only competitors, but also spectators, which is really good for our economy,” Cr Stocks explained.

“The economic benefit is one of the best things that will come out of the event and as a motorsport competitor myself, I can safely say the racing will definitely be exciting for spectators.”

The event will be part of the Seven Network’s free-to-air broadcast of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships, with a minimum of six hours to be televised throughout each race weekend in 2020, as well as live and free streaming on 7plus.

The event will also see a special charity partner benefit from the series coming to town. The Queensland Country Women’s Association (CWA), a charity devoted to assist the needy within the region through funding, food or water and general support, will also be partnered with the Queensland event giving the round a real ‘community feel’. This will also be another opportunity for members of the motorsport community to rally behind the various bushfire impacted communities.

The first time that the TCR Australia cars will be together officially for 2020 will be at the ‘free-to-the-public’ test day at Winton Raceway on February 26. The first race meeting will be at the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix where the TCR cars will compete for the Asia Pacific Cup on March 12-15.

2020 TCR Australia Series calendar

TCR Asia Pacific Cup: Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park, 12-15 March
Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, 27-29 March
Round 2: Bathurst 6 Hour, 10-12 April
Round 3: Winton, 1-3 May
Round 4: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12-14 June
Round 5: Morgan Park Raceway, 3-5 July
Round 6: Phillip Island, 21-23 August
Round 7: Sandown, 11-13 September
Bathurst International: Mount Panorama, Bathurst, 13-15 November