26 February 2020 | Featured

Honda and D’Alberto reveal 2020 Civic Type R TCR contender

Honda Australia and Tony D’Alberto have revealed a refreshed livery for the Honda Civic Type R TCR race car that will contest the 2020 carsales TCR Australia Series.

In conjunction with Wall Racing, they pulled the covers off the #50 Honda Civic Type R entry early this morning, just a few hours before the car hits the track at Winton Motor Raceway for the series launch and test day.

The livery has been updated for the 2020 season, with more splashes of the famed “Honda Red” that represents Honda’s products, innovative technology and motorsport activities around the world.

‘Honda’, ‘Civic’, ‘Type R’ and ‘Honda Genuine Parts’ all feature prominently on the car, while maintaining the core colour scheme that ties in with Honda’s global motorsport entries in GT racing, WTCR and other regional TCR categories.

D’Alberto retains the #50 that he used to finish second in the inaugural series last year and will contest the 2020 season with continued support from the Honda Australia.

The Victorian driver is looking forward to getting the new TCR Australia Series underway.

“I really like the new touches that we’ve added to the car,” said D’Alberto.

“I liked last year’s car too, but I feel that this one just rounds it off better and really completes the Type R look.

“It’s amazing to have the continued support of Honda Australia for TCR Australia in 2020. The Civic Type R is an award-winning road car and the racing version helps underline its iconic status.

“We’re aiming to go one better in this year’s title. It will be a tough year, but we can’t wait to get back into the racing.”

D’Alberto will get his first drive of the revised car at the official TCR test at Winton Motor Raceway today.

Close to the 20 cars that will compete this year are at the rural venue ahead of the opening event for 2020 – the TCR Asia Pacific Cup at Albert Park, supporting the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix on March 12-15.

The opening round of the main championship will be held at Sydney Motorsport Park on March 27-29.