25 November 2021 |

Christopher Mies to do double duties at Bathurst

Factory Audi Sport driver Christopher Mies will make his return to Bathurst at the end of this month where he will compete double duty in both the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS and Supercheap Auto TCR Australia season finales.

Regarded as one of the world’s best GT drivers, Mies has been associated with Audi Sport since 2008 and raced within its R8 LMS GT3 program for more than a decade.

To keep updated with TCR Australia like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

A previous winner of the Australian GT Championship, Australian Tourist Trophy double in 2015 and the 2011 Bathurst 12 Hour, Mies is a regular ‘down under’ through a close association with Melbourne Performance Centre.

Mies set a lap record at Mount Panorama in 2018 driving an unrestricted Audi R8 LMS GT3 at Challenge Bathurst, a 1m 59.2910s.

Mies will contest the final round of the inaugural Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS partnering Yasser Shahin at the season finale replacing Garth Tander, who is unable to compete due to broadcast and racing commitments.

Also, Mies will race an Audi RS3 LMS TCR for the first time as he will guest drive in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia’s season finale, the TCR Bathurst 400.

It will mark the German’s TCR debut in what will be the longest races undertaken by the class in this country.

Mies will drive the RS3 LMS TCR used by Garth Tander to score two thirds at Easter in support of the Hi Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour event.

Mies will line-up alongside Chaz Mostert in the #25 Bostik Audi as he looks to wrap up the TCR title at the famous Mount Panorama circuit.

Eighteen cars will enter the inaugural TCR Bathurst 400, with the turbo-charged touring car rockets set to complete three 21 lap races. The second race will feature a reverse top 10 starting order, based on the finishing positions of Race 1.

Mostert is in the box seat to claim the crown, although his Audi team-mate Luke King, HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan and Nathan Morcom and Peugeot star Aaron Cameron remain with a mathematical chance of snatching the title.

Two practice sessions will be held on Tuesday, followed by qualifying and Race 1 on Wednesday and the final two races on Friday and Saturday.

See below for the full grid that will line-up for the final round of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Mount Panorama.


Christopher Mies

Melbourne Performance Centre

“Bathurst is always special and to come back after many years after not being able to be in Australia, I’m really looking forward to it,” said Mies.

“Australia is my favourite country and racing there is always a pleasure. I like the Australian racing culture.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve driven a TCR car. It was a couple years back developing the Gen 1 car.

“Also jumping back and forward in two different kinds of race cars is something I haven’t done for years so don’t judge me if I am holding everyone up in the first session!

“Obviously my main goal is to help Yasser (Shahin) win the championship and this is what I will do. From what I’ve heard he’s a great guy and an even better racer.

“I can’t wait to get this done for him and MPC. I’ve really missed these guys and I’m looking forward to continuing our story together.”


2 MPC Moutai Racing Luke King NSW Audi RS 3 1984 Black/Red
5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox NSW Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750 Whi/Red/Green
150 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso NSW Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750 Whi/Red/Green
9 Melbourne Performance Centre Jay Hanson VIC Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750 Whi/Red/Green
11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom NSW Hyundai I30N 1999 White/Blue
14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff NSW Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984 Blue/Red
17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna VIC Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 White/Blue
155 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron VIC Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 White
24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin NSW Honda Civic Type R 1998 White
25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert QLD Audi RS 3 1984 Black/Red
30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan NSW Hyundai I30N 1999 White/Blue
33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe VIC Renault Megane RS 1800 White
34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat VIC Renault Megane RS 1800 Black/Blue
78 Purple Sector Keegan Brain NSW Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984 White
71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna VIC Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 White
75 Melbourne Performance Centre Christopher Mies VIC Audi RS 3 1984 Silver
110 Team Soutar Zac Soutar VIC Honda Civic Type R 1998 White
333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels NSW Hyundai I30N 1999 Blue