16 March 2022 |

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series field expands for Phillip Island

An expanded 21-car field will enter Round 2 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Phillip Island this weekend as the title fight is set to intensify.

Just four-points cover the top three drivers following the opening round at Symmons Plains as part of AWC Race Tasmania.

To keep updated with TCR Australia like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan has a narrow two-point advantage from surprise maiden race winner and privateer Zac Soutar in his Spicers Australia-backed Civic Type R TCR, who holds the same margin back to the factory supported Honda of Tony D’Alberto.

Having not raced in the category since May last year, Michael Clemente in his privateer run Honda Civic Type R TCR returns at Phillip Island where he scored his best result of fifth in 2021. Also making a return is Iain McDougall after making his Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series debut at the inaugural season finale at The Bend in 2019.

McDougall’s Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR will feature a livery inspired by the German manufacturer’s rich history at Le Mans as it renews its rivalry with Peugeot from more than a decade ago in TCR.

“We are motorsport fans through and through, and have been watching iconic race cars around the world for a number of years,” said McDougall.

“I’ve always loved the split designs along the lines of the original BAR Lucky Strike/555 Formula 1 zipper cars and I’ve wanted to race with a tribute livery for a while know so the opportunity to pay homage to a successful Audi with the split design was too good of an opportunity to pass up.

“The inspiration is the 2010 Le Mans winning R15 where the three Audi LMP1s clean swept the podium after being outmatched on one lap pace by the factory Peugeots in qualifying.

“It looks fast standing still so I can’t wait to see what it looks like on track.”

It’s not the only Audi to debut a new appearance, with privateer Liam McAdam’s Forza Motorsport RS3 LMS TCR will be emblazoned in bright orange to ensure it stands out on the track.

The close margin at the top of the standings isn’t restricted to the lead trio as AWC Race Tasmania race winner Jordan Cox and Buchan’s HMO Customer Racing teammate Nathan Morcom remain within 20-points of the series leader.

Phillip Island was the scene of Peugeot’s first victory in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia and with a strong quartet of drivers led by Cox, the French marque’s chances will be very high.

On the other side of the Garry Rogers Motorsport garage, the Renaults of Kody Garland and James Moffat had a weekend to forget in Tasmania despite displaying promise. A successful test recently at the venue for Garland bolsters confidence for the young gun, while Moffat will be keen to unlock the Renault’s potential.

Despite its late arrival, Jay Hanson’s latest specification RS3 LMS TCR was on the pace at Symmons Plains and this is not expected to change at Phillip Island, with MPC continuing to learn the Audi.

In familiar machinery, LIQUI MOLY Team MPC stablemate Will Brown’s chassis took two wins with Chaz Mostert behind the wheel last year and will be targeting an improved result after a mixed opening event in Tasmania.

Ash Seward Motorsport’s Michael Caruso leads Alfa Romeo’s chances at a venue the Italian brand has taken victory at before.

Continuing his stint in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia is Fabian Coulthard, who returns to the Stan Sport Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R TCR for his second round and to what is a circuit where the marque is strong.

The Supercheap Auto TCR Australia field will contest three 16-lap races at Phillip Island this weekend forming the opening event for the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships together with the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS and Turtle Wax Trans Am Series.

Tickets for the event are on sale now and must be pre-purchased. CLICK HERE to secure your place at Phillip Island.

Live and on-demand coverage will be broadcast via Stan Sport, with a bumper 12 hours of coverage over Saturday and Sunday, starting at 11am AEDT each day. Viewers outside of Australia can watch free on


Track Schedule

Friday, March 18

11:45am-12:10pm Practice 1
2:35pm-3:05pm Practice 2

Saturday, March 19

11:20am-11:35am Qualifying 1
11:40am-11:50am Qualifying 2

4:10pm-4:40pm Race 1

Sunday, March 20

1:05pm-1:35pm Race 2
4:10pm-4:40pm Race 3


Stan Sport TV Schedule

Saturday, March 19

11-5pm AEDT

Sunday, March 20

11-5pm AEDT


ENTRY LIST, ROUND 2, Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Car # Sponsor Driver State Model
8 Schaeffler GRM Dylan O’Keeffe VIC Peugeot 308 TCR
9 AWC MPC Racing Jay Hanson VIC Audi RS3 LMS TCR
10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso NSW Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR
11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom NSW Hyundai i30N TCR
14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff NSW Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente VIC Honda Civic Type R TCR
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron VIC Peugeot 308 TCR
22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall VIC Audi RS3 LMS TCR
24 Stan Sport Wall Racing Fabian Coulthard QLD Honda Civic Type R TCR
30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan VIC Hyundai i30N TCR
33 Swyftx GRM Jordan Cox NSW Peugeot 308 TCR
34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat VIC Renault Megane R.S. TCR
41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland NSW Renault Megane R.S. TCR
50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto VIC Honda Civic Type R TCR
71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna VIC Peugeot 308 TCR
89 Braydan Willmington Motorsports Braydan Willmington NSW Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR
97 Forza Brakes Motorsport Liam McAdam QLD Audi RS3 LMS TCR
110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar VIC Honda Civic Type R TCR
130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny NSW Hyundai i30N TCR
333 Royal Purple Racing Brad Shiels NSW Hyundai i30N TCR
999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY Will Brown QLD Audi RS3 LMS TCR