15 April 2022 |

Jordan Cox fastest in opening TCR practice at the Mountain

Jordan Cox has topped a stop-start opening Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series practice session as Peugeot took out the top four positions at Mount Panorama in interrupted session at the Mountain.

Meanwhile Cox drove his Swyftx GRM Peugeot 308 TCR to a 2m 17.076s to lead Valvoline-supported stablemate Aaron Cameron by 0.108s in a session interrupted by two red flags.

To keep updated with TCR Australia like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

Peugeot is the early form marque as Schaeffler GRM’s Dylan O’Keeffe and Burson Auto Parts Racing’s Ben Bargwanna rounded out the French quartet.

Best of the rest was Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series rookie Bailey Sweeny in his HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR from title leader Tony D’Alberto driving the Honda Australia Wall Racing Civic Type R TCR.

HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan, Nathan Morcom and Royal Purple Racing’s Brad Shiels aiming to reverse Hyundai’s form at the Mountain followed, while James Moffat completed the top 10 in his LMCT+ Racing GRM Renault Megane R.S. TCR.

Series debutant Tim Slade in the Wall Racing Stan Sport Honda Civic Type R TCR placed 11th, while LIQUI MOLY-supported Will Brown was 14th in his Audi RS3 LMS TCR

AWC Racing MPC’s Jay Hanson was the first to cause a stoppage at The Cutting in his Audi RS3 LMS TCR after hitting the outside wall.

The second was needed following an incident for Lachlan Mineeff in the Purple Sector Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR due to a rear suspension fault. The entry is expected to be repaired for this afternoon’s second practice session.

Also battling technical problems was Michael Caruso in the Autoglym Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR.

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series returns for second practice at 2pm AEST.

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia’s third round forms part of a bumper Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour event during the Easter long weekend.

Turtle Wax Trans Am Series, MRF Tyres Australian Pulsar Racing Association, NSW Historic Touring Cars and NSW HQ Holdens complete the bill.

All of the action will be live, ad-break free and on demand exclusively on Stan Sport in Australia.