7 August 2022 |

Penalties handed out after first Queensland Raceway TCR race

Josh Buchan and Aaron Cameron have been handed time penalties after a torrid first Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series race at Queensland Raceway.

Hyundai driver Buchan was slapped with a 30 second penalty for a first lap incident with Michael Caruso. The penalty meant that instead of finishing 10th, and starting from pole for today’s first race (reverse top 10), Buchan will line-up 14th on the grid.

Similar pain for Valvoline Peugeot star Aaron Cameron. The Garry Rogers Motorsport driver was handed a 15 second penalty for his hand in the Lap 1 clash with Bailey Sweeny.

Cameron crossed the line in fourth, but will now start 13th.

The incident with Ben Bargwanna and Nathan Morcom that saw the pair end up stranded in the gravel trap was heard by the stewards with no penalty handed out after Bargwanna proved a brake issue caused the clash.

The mix up of results means that Michael Caruso has been promoted to 10th place in Race 1’s classification, meaning he will start from pole for the reverse top 10 Race 2. Lachlan Mineeff will start second from Will Brown and Michael Clemente.

Race 2 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series starts at 12:10pm AEST, live and ad-break free on Stan Sport.