15 November 2022 |

Winners celebrated at Supercheap Auto TCR Australia awards night

The winners from the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series for 2022 have been celebrated in style in Bathurst.

Teams, drivers, partners, sponsors and media came together for the end of year party to congratulate those who achieved at the highest level after a brilliant season – and nail biting conclusion – to the season.

Honda driver Tony D’Alberto collected his series trophy having edged out second placed Will Brown by a mere nine points. Josh Buchan took third place overall, having started the last race in fourth.

Buchan’s Hyundai team-mate enjoyed another successful round at Bathurst, elevating him to fifth overall and was awarded the Michelin Rookie of the Year honours at the awards night. Sweeny also won the ‘TCR Bathurst 400’ trophy – handed out to the driver with the most points over the three TCR Supercheap Auto Bathurst International races.

Another young gun, Zac Soutar, was honoured, receiving the ‘Most Improved’ driver of 2022.

Jay Hanson qualified on pole for the final round at Mount Panorama, giving him three pole positions in total for the year – the most of any driver. He was celebrated for that feat at the award’s night.

And while Melbourne Performance Centre narrowly missed out on the driver’s title, the team was handed the ‘Best Presented Team’ award.

Finally, the ‘Team’s Series’ crown went to HMO Customer Racing, thanks to Buchan’s third and Sweeny’s fifth place in the outright standings.

The opening round of the 2023 Supercheap AUto TCR Australia Series will be held at Symmons Plains Raceway in Tasmania on February 24-26.