3 March 2023 |

Australian drivers make big moves in Kumho TCR World Rankings

Following the opening round of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series, local drivers have been the big movers in the TCR World Rankings.

Valvoline Team GRM’s Kody Garland has progressed 42 positions in the TCR World Rankings after his maiden podium result at AWC Race Tasmania, while both Michael Clemente and Lachlan Mineeff moved up 25 positions each after strong performances at Symmons Plains.

Reigning Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series winner Tony D’Alberto continues to lead his local rivals in the Kumho TCR World Rankings placing 23rd after two podiums at AWC Race Tasmania, two spots ahead of MPC Team LIQUI MOLY’s Will Brown.

Schaeffler GRM Peugeot driver Jordan Cox is 26th ahead of stablemate Aaron Cameron in 40th, while the top five local competitors is rounded out by HMO Customer Racing’s dual Tasmanian race winner Bailey Sweeny in 44th.

Sweeny’s teammate Josh Buchan is 46th ahead of Ben Bargwanna in 65th and Zac Soutar is placed 70th to complete the Aussies ranked in the top 100.

BTCC race winner Tom Oliphant is a new entry into the Kumho TCR World Rankings at 381, but expect this to improve across the season.

The top 45 Kumho TCR World Ranking drivers will automatically qualify for the TCR World Final at a yet to be disclosed circuit joining the 16 competitors from the Kumho TCR World Tour in deciding the best globally.

Bargwanna will have the opportunity to gain further positions as he takes part in the Kumho TCR World Tour rounds at Portimao and Spa-Francorchamps together with TCR Europe.

These two events are split by the second round of Supercheap Auto TCR Australia at Phillip Island as part of a packed Shannons SpeedSeries schedule on May 12-14.


Driver New position Gained/Lost Total points
Tony D’Alberto 23 -1 58.58
Will Brown 25 0 58.16
Jordan Cox 26 -2 57.72
Aaron Cameron 40 10 52.27
Bailey Sweeny 44 12 51.28
Josh Buchan 46 -19 50.84
Ben Bargwanna 65 5 45.60
Zac Soutar 70 -10 44.90
Michael Clemente 156 25 25.00
Lachlan Mineeff 164 25 24.06
Kody Garland 213 42 17.82
Iain McDougall 224 22 16.42
Tom Oliphant 381 New entry 5.84