6 June 2023 |

Richards confirmed for strong TCR field at Winton

New recruit Clay Richards has been confirmed to join the strong Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series field during next week’s Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton.

The third-generation driver under the famous surname will make his series debut behind the wheel of a Shannons Insurance MPC backed #4 Audi RS3 LMS, after previously taking part in the Garry Rogers Motorsport (GRM) combine earlier this year.

Many familiar names will join the Victorian on the grid at the Winton Motor Raceway, including current series leader and HMO Customer Racing driver Bailey Sweeny.

Sweeny will be alongside HMO Customer Racing teammate and Phillip Island round winner Josh Buchan for the event, with the pair looking to take full advantage of the tight and twisty circuit to further display their presence at the top of the standings.

The Hyundais are certain to come under immense pressure from the likes of Jordan Cox and Aaron Cameron in the Garry Rogers Motorsport prepared Peugeot 308s, with the duo sitting second and third on the standings respectively.

Ahead of the category’s return to Winton, Cox believed he had what It takes to win the title.

“I have got full trust in the GRM crew with what they do, there are four drivers in GRM and we have all got our own unique driving styles but we work very well together to go down a path then put our own personal touches on things,” Cox said.

“I’m pretty confident moving forward, the boys have had some good tests and we have seemed to have made a great gain.

“I am here to win the series, I’m not here just to make up the numbers. I haven’t had the race wins I’ve wanted but I’ve been up there a lot of the time.”

2023 Speed Series, Round 2, Phillip Island.
World Copyright: Daniel Kalisz Photographer

Joining Cox and Cameron in GRM garages is Kody Garland, who starting to gain some traction ahead of the third round of the season.

Reigning champion, Tony D’Alberto will once again be behind the wheel of his Wall Racing Honda Civic FK7 and will try and put himself back into the title race with other contenders Carl Cox Motorsports Michael Clemente and Forza Brakes Motorsports Lachlan Mineeff.

After making his series debut at Phillip Island, Brad Harris will compete in his Exclusive Switchboards Honda Civic Type R for the second time this season, while Englishman Tom Oliphant will once again pilot the new Autoglym/ASM Lynk & Co.

A notable absence will be 2019 champion Will Brown, who will be travelling to the United States for a fact-finding mission at a Nascar race in St Louis – but the Luqui Moly/Melbourne Performance Centre driver has been confirmed for the remainder of the season.

Two drivers who will be looking to take full advantage of Brown’s absence will be Tufflift Racings Zac Zoutar and Iain McDougall, with hoping to get off the bottom of the standings.

Saturday’s coverage on Stan Sport will take place from 11:00am to 5:00pm AEST, while 9Gem will showcase the series live and free from 2pm AEST. Sunday’s Stan Sport coverage will start from 9:30am and will conclude at 5:00pm.

Tickets to the event can be purchased via with plenty of ticketing options available.

The Shannons SpeedSeries’ Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton takes place at Winton Raceway on 9-11 June.


1 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto VIC Honda Civic FK7 TCR 1998 Red/White
4 Shannons Insurance MPC Clay Richards VIC Audi RS3 LMS SEQ 1984 Green/White
14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff NSW Audi RS3 LMS SEQ 1998 Orange
15 Carl Cox Motorspport Michael Clemente VIC Cupra Leon Competicion TCR 1998 Black/Red
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron VIC Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 Red
22 Challenge Motorsport Iain McDougall VIC Auid RS3 LMS SEQ 1984 Red/Silver/Black
30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan NSW Hyundai i30N Sedan 1999 Blue/Orange
33 Schaeffler GRM Jordan Cox NSW Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 Green/White
41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland NSW Peugeot 308 TCR 1800 Red
71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna VIC Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 Blue/Red/White
74 Exclusive Switchboards / Wall Racing Brad Harris NSW Honda Civic FK7 TCR 1998 Aquamarine
110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar VIC Audi RS3 LMS TCR 1998 Black/Yellow
115 Autoglym / Ashley Seward Motorsport Tom Oliphant NSW Lynk & Co CO 03 TCR 1750 White/Red/Green
130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny NSW Hyundai i30N TCR 1999 Blue/Orange