6 February 2024 |

TCR Australia Reveals Strongest Grid Since 2022

The Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series will kick off its 2024 season with a 15-car grid, as the series races into the new free-to-air Seven Network television deal.

There is a new team along with two new drivers joining the category, while a host of race winners from previous seasons return across six different manufacturers.

99motorsport will line up for their maiden season in TCR Australia, with team owner Marcus LaDelle at the wheel and also making his category debut. LaDelle will drive the Audi RS3 LMS chassis that was steered to the 2021 Series victory by Chaz Mostert.

Indonesian star Glenn Nirwan is another debutant, as he joins an expanded Tufflift Racing squad. Nirwan will compete alongside Zac Soutar, with support from Melbourne Performance Centre for round one.

MPC will also run Carl Cox Motorsport’s Cupra entry, to be driven by Clay Richards. The third-generation racer made two starts in TCR Australia in 2023, racing to a podium finish on debut at Winton.

Toyota 86 Champion Ryan Casha steps up to the category for 2024, joining race-winners Aaron Cameron, Ben Bargwanna and Jordan Cox at Garry Rogers Motorsport.

Wall Racing carry a three-car line-up, with 2022 Champion Tony D’Alberto and Brad Harris both racing a Honda Civic Type R FL5, with Will Harris joining the team in the older-gen Honda Civic FK7 TCR.

The defending champions have a new driver pairing, with Josh Buchan and his number one adorned Hyundai joined by Tom Oliphant at HMO Customer Racing.

Oliphant’s vacated seat at Ashley Seward Motorsport remains a TBC, with an announcement still to come on the driver of Australia’s only Lynk & Co.

Iain McDougall also returns for Challenge Motorsport, with the privateer running an Audi.

The full entry list can be found at

Round one will take place from February 9-11, as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries. All three races will be live and free on 7mate, with qualifying on 7plus.