15 March 2024 |

D’Alberto Leads Soutar by Hundredths in Practice 1

2021 Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series winner Tony D’Alberto has set the pace in practice one for this weekend’s round at AWC Race Tasmania, leading Zac Soutar by just 0.0267s.

HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan was fast early on, leading after the first half dozen laps around the tight Symmons Plains Raceway. Soutar took over command at the top of the timesheets after 10 minutes for Tufflift Racing, with D’Alberto in close tow and Aaron Cameron starting strong as he did at Sandown.

The Honda Wall Racing driver claimed the fastest lap of the session on his 14th trip of the 2.411km circuit – setting a 56.0146s time. Soutar and Cameron’s laps from early on stood the test of time as they remained in the top three as the session wound to a close.

Dylan O’Keeffe had the Lynk & Co back on song, after a tough Sandown weekend, going fourth fastest for Ashley Seward Motorsport. Tom Oliphant rounded out the top five, heading his new teammate Buchan for the first time.

Jordan Cox, Brad Harris, Clay Richards, Buchan, Ryan Casha, Ben Bargwanna, Will Harris and Glenn Nirwan rounded out the field – with Brad Harris fastest in TCR Challenge.

The full results can be found here.

Practice 2 takes place at 1:45pm AEDT.