14 April 2024 |

Brad Harris Wins Frenetic Reverse Grid Race

Brad Harris has ultimately taken victory after initially being stripped off the win via a time penalty, in race two of the weekend at Phillip Island for the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series.

Full results are available here.

Harris had been adjudged in-race to have jumped the start, and subsequently was handed a five second time penalty. Post-race, the time penalty was rescinded after further evidence was found to prove that Harris did in fact not jump the start.

The initial race start was chaotic, with Will Harris pushing Aaron Cameron on to the grass in the run to turn one while the pack ran three wide on approach (which earned the Wall Racing driver a five second penalty). Contact between Glenn Nirwan and Josh Buchan sent both cars out of the race early, with Buchan’s attempt to limp his HMO Customer Racing back to the pits undone with significant damage.

Merely a couple of seconds separated the field early on, with drivers running two or three wide around much of the Phillip Island circuit. It came unstuck for Will Harris who has a half spin at turn nine, which dropped the pole-sitter down the order.

Cameron climbed up to second, while Garry Rogers Motorsport teammate Ryan Casha made a move on Clay Richards for third with the pack watching on in close proximity.

A late race lunge from Ben Bargwanna at turn 10 did not pay off, with contact sending Tom Oliphant off the road. The race was neutralised just a short while later when Dylan O’Keeffe went for a high-speed spin at the final corner and became beached in the gravel.

The race ended under Safety Car, amplifying the effect of the penalty for Will Harris, who dropped to 10th.

Race three takes place at 4:10pm local time, live on 7plus.